Breaking Down Astrology: What Does Each Planet Represent in Your Birth Chart?

You may be shocked to learn that your zodiac's sun sign is just one of the many planets that influence your birth chart.

Your birth chart is full of information. Astro Style describes a birth chart as "a map of where all the planets were in their journey around the Sun (from our vantage point on earth) at the exact moment you were born." This explains why you may not relate to every characteristic of your sign. You may be a Libra sun, but you're not only a Libra. You could have a Scorpio Venus or a Taurus moon.

People often talk about the "big three," your sun sign, your moon sign and your rising sign (also known as your ascendant.) These three signs create a basic picture of you as a person, but all the other planets play a role. Astrology can be confusing, so we broke down which each planet represents and how it influences you. If you want to know where your planets fall in your birth chart, you can go to Café Astrology and get a full birth chart report.

Shutterstock: birth chart drawn in a notebook with water color painted cards of various planets

(via Shutterstock)

Rising Sign

Although your rising sign isn't a planet, it's a vital aspect of your chart. Your rising sign is the sign that was on the horizon when you were born. You need to know your birth chart to calculate your rising sign. Your rising sign is the first impression you give to others. It is such an essential aspect of your birth chart that some astrologers believe that you should base your horoscope on your rising sign instead of your sun sign!

Shutterstock: horizon rising over the planet Earth

(via Shutterstock)



The sun sign is the most well-known part of your birth chart. The sun represents your core personality or the "true you." It's the most authentic version of yourself and it influences everything you do in life, which is why we tell people or sun signs when they ask for our zodiac sign.

Shutterstock: Sun

(via Shutterstock)



Your moon sign is related to your inner world and emotions. It's the side you may hide from others because it's vulnerable. Your moon sign provides a deep understanding of our inner world and explains how you process the outer-world. Although your moon sign is not as apparent as your Sun and rising sign, it's just as important.

Shutterstock: the moon

(via Shutterstock)



Mercury is known for going into retrograde and causing trouble, but Mercury is not the planet of chaos. Mercury is the sign of communication. It represents how we express ourselves and (process) information.

Shutterstock: Mercury

(via Shutterstock)



Venus is the sign of love and romance. It also represents money and aesthetics. If you know where Venus falls in your chart, it will give you insight into how you give and receive love, much like the five love languages. Do you want to know if you're compatible with the person you like? Skip the Sun signs and find out if your Venus signs are compatible.

Shutterstock: Venus

(via Shutterstock)



Think of Mars as your driving force. It's a passionate planet that represents how you pursue your goals and chase your dreams.

Shutterstock: Mars

(via Shutterstock)



Everybody loves Jupiter! It's known as the planet of luck as it represents good fortune. It also signifies insight, healing, growth and expanding knowledge. It's a feel-good planet with positive vibes.

Shutterstock: Jupiter

(via Shutterstock)



Saturn gets a terrible rap. While Jupiter is favored, Saturn is looked at with frustration. Saturn represents limitation, fear, tradition and discipline. However, Saturn is a necessary part of our chart. Saturn encourages responsibility and teaches us hard but important lessons. Knowing where Saturn falls on your birth chart can help you see what lessons you need to overcome and what struggles you may face.

Shutterstock: Saturn

(via Shutterstock)



Uranus is a generational planet. A generational planet is a planet that stays in a sign for an extended period, defining a cultural time. Uranus remains in a sign for seven years. It represents individuality and progressive ideals.

Shutterstock: Uranus

(via Shutterstock)



Neptune stays in a sign for about 14 years. Although it's an integral part of your birth chart, it influences more than a decade of people. It represents dreams and inspiration, which is the theme that runs through the people born with the same Neptune sign. It affects how your generation envisions the future.

Shutterstock: Neptune

(via Shutterstock)



Although Pluto is no longer considered a planet, it still plays a role in your chart. Pluto stays in a sign for about 21 years, so it is the least specific of all the planets. Pluto represents power and rebirth. It can give you a look into how your generation will change the world.

Shutterstock: Pluto

(via Shutterstock)


Do you love astrology and wellness? Check out which 2021 wellness trend you should do based on your sun sign (or your rising sign!)