Is Your Zodiac Sign Cardinal, Fixed or Mutable? And What Does It Mean?

Love reading horoscopes? Chances are, you already know a thing or two about your zodiac sign—but do you know your modality, or whether it's a cardinal, fixed or mutable sign?

If you have questions, we have answers. Scroll below to find out where your sign fits into the scheme of things, and what your zodiac sign's modality might have to say about you.

The Cardinal Signs

  • Aries (March 21 – April 29)
  • Cancer (June 21 – July 22)
  • Libra (Sep. 23 – Oct. 22)
  • Capricorn (Dec. 22 – Jan. 19)

Cardinal means first, and of the utmost importance, so it's logical that the signs of Aries, Cancer, Libra and Capricorn correspond with the start of each season. These signs are the most action-oriented in the zodiac. They're leaders who are the first to step up to the plate when a job needs to be done. Their ambition drives them to work hard, and they don't believe in taking the easy route to achieve their goals. They go after everything with all they've got. These signs are rarely satisfied sitting around, and they'll often start new projects to give themselves the excuse to take charge of something. They're natural-born winners, which can often make them appear intimidating to the other signs, but they don't mind being seen that way in the slightest.


(via Shutterstock)


The Fixed Signs

  • Taurus (April 20 – May 20)
  • Leo (July 23 – Aug. 22)
  • Scorpio (Oct. 23 – Nov. 21)
  • Aquarius (Jan. 20 – Feb. 18)

Fixed signs are stable and disciplined, with birthdays arriving smack-dab in the middle of their respective seasons. Taurus, Leo, Scorpio and Aquarius are known for pure resolve, and a stubborn dedication that means they always finish what they start. Not only are they persistent, but they have the focus and drive to keep their eye on the prize at all times. Everything they do is intentional and works toward their purpose. They're often happy to delegate rather than get their own hands dirty, subtly guiding the action. The other signs can see them as incredibly stubborn, as they tend to believe they're in the right even when all the evidence is against them.


(via Shutterstock)


The Mutable Signs

  • Gemini (May 21 – June 20)
  • Virgo (Aug. 23 – Sep. 22)
  • Sagittarius (Nov. 22 – Dec. 21)
  • Pisces (Feb. 19 – March 20)

Mutable signs are known for their flexibility and ability to go with the flow. Gemini, Virgo, Sagittarius and Pisces are up for anything and can adapt to any obstacle they counter, adjusting in whatever ways are needed for the situation. They're typically good communicators, who have a unique knack for dealing with others, though this communication method differs between each of the four signs. They're always thinking about the group as a whole, rather than just themselves, and are happy to go along with others if the decision makes life easier for everyone. Still, they have a tendency to get easily distracted, getting bored easily and moving on to new projects before they finish what they've started. Other signs often see them as wishy-washy, because they do change their minds often with the evidence that's presented to them, but they actually see that mutability as a strength.


(via Shutterstock)


For even more insight into your zodiac sign, click HERE to learn more about what your zodiac element reveals about you.