5 Things to Know About Instagram's New Restrict Feature
Instagram's new restrict feature has a lofty purpose.
According to a blog post from the photo-sharing app, the tool, which debuted earlier this month, was created to give users more control over the comments left on their posts and who can see them.
Scroll down to learn more about the 'gram's latest feature!
It Was Designed to Protect Accounts From 'Unwanted Interactions'
Restrict was certainly designed with younger users in mind, and specifically those who may be confronted with online bullies who leave unkind comments on their posts. As Instagram puts it, "Restrict is designed to empower you to quietly protect your account while still keeping an eye on a bully." The feature, which we discuss in more detail below, lets users monitor comments made by others and hide or delete them as needed.
It's Really Easy to Use
As with many of Instagram's tools, restrict is easy to use. Users can restrict someone by swiping left on a comment using the Privacy tab in Settings, or by going directly to the profile of the account they wish to restrict and pressing the three dots icon in the top right-hand corner of the screen. That will then prompt a menu to appear which includes the "restrict" option.
It Gives the User More Control
One of the great things about restrict is that it aims to give the user more control over the comments that appear on their page. Once Restrict is enabled, for example, comments on your posts from a person you have restricted will only be visible to said person. You can then choose to view the comment by tapping "See Comment." You can also approve the comment so everyone can see it, delete it, or ignore it. Additionally, you won't receive any notifications for comments from a restricted account. It's basically a less intense version of blocking someone.
It Affects Direct Messages, Too
When a user is restricted, it also impacts how and when you'll see any direct messages they might send you, which, once again, gives you more control. Direct messages from restricted users will automatically move to Message Request, and you will not receive notifications from a restricted account. You can still view the messages, but the restricted account will not be able to see when you've read their direct messages or when you are active on Instagram.
You Can Undo It With 'Unrestrict'
If you've had a change of heart regarding a user you've restricted, you can simply go ahead and unrestrict them. This means their comments will once again be visible to everyone (or just to your followers if your account is private), and any direct messages the user sends you will go directly to your inbox.
For more social media-related content, click HERE for a list of things you'll relate to if you're a VSCO girl.