10 Big Things Happening in Music the Week of Oct. 16, 2020

Isn't it wild that every day our favorite artists are hard at work just so they can produce music for us?

This week was no different, with artists like G-Eazy and Sofia Carson dropping some stellar beats.

Are you interested in finding out all about what happened in the world of music? Keep reading to find out all about the ten big things happening in music the week of Oct. 16, 2020.

1. G-Eazy and Blackbear Release Their Latest Collab, 'Hate the Way'

We'll be the first to admit—we love G-Eazy so much that we honestly expect his stuff to always be a hit. So, when we first heard "Hate the Way," we had high expectations. And guess what? They were all met. In collaboration with blackbear, this dynamic duo gave us some pretty captivating stuff. The video itself is pretty hardcore, but it totally works alongside the lyrics and beat.


2. The Vamps Drop New Album, Cherry Blossom 

British band The Vamps finally released their fifth studio album, Cherry Blossom. The record, which includes 11 songs, was made by the band while jamming together and just getting back to their roots. This totally shows in the depth of their songs. In a press release, Brad Simpson of The Vamps said,"We unlocked where we wanted to go in terms of our own aspirations."

View this post on Instagram

A post shared by The Vamps (@thevamps) on


3. CHEL Releases New Single, 'Nasty Woman'

Body positive model and singer-songwriter CHEL just released her new single, "Nasty Woman." Here at Sweety High, we're all about female empowerment, so we were stoked to get a look into the artist's way of thinking. In a press release, she said, "I wanted to make a women's empowerment anthem that was pretty and gritty all at the same time. I wanted to speak to the fact that women are still paid substantially less to do the same job as a man."

View this post on Instagram

A post shared by Chel (@musicbychel) on


4. Pandora Launches Endless Playlist

Pandora just released their latest campaign, Endless Playlist. Essentially, artists choose a song that inspires them, talk about it, then pass it on to the artist whose song they chose. With people like Alicia Keys, Billie Eilish and The Neighbourhood on board, we're excited to see where this journey will lead.

View this post on Instagram

A post shared by Pandora (@pandora) on


5. Austin Mahone Drops Single and Music Video for 'Summer Love'

With over 4.7 million subscribers on YouTube, Austin Mahone has quite the fanbase. He recently dropped the single and music video for "Summer Love," and boy are we vibing with it. The lyrics themselves are super relatable, and the video showcases Austin in Miami. He's spotted with a summer fling and we watch the ups and downs of what that entails.


6. Sofia Carson Releases New Single, 'Guess I'm a Liar'

When we learned that Sofia Carson released a new single, we were ecstatic. Her sultry voice just puts us at ease and gives us the best feeling. "Guess I'm a Liar," was dropped today, features Sofia's stunning vocals alongside a fascinating tempo. The music video will be released on Oct. 23, and we're counting down the days until we finally get to watch it!

View this post on Instagram

A post shared by Sofia Carson (@sofiacarson) on


7. Sasha Sloan Drops Debut Album, Only Child

Our girl Sasha Sloan just dropped her debut album, Only Child, which we've been looking forward to for months! The album has 10 songs that are all as different as they are amazing. On her Instagram, Sasha wrote: "This album represents a different part of who I am. The girl who hates what she sees in the mirror, the jaded romantic, the girl who doesn't know what she believes in and the girl who made her teenage self proud."

View this post on Instagram

A post shared by sasha sloan (@sadgirlsloan) on


8. Tessa Violet Releases New Single Featuring Chloe Moriondo, 'Words Ain't Enough'

If you're on the hunt for a song that will give you all the feels, look no further than Tessa Violet's "Words Ain't Enough" featuring Chloe Moriondo. In a press release, Tessa said, ""I'm so grateful to have friends around me that also happen to be artists I really admire. And even more grateful to get to collaborate with them. Hugely appreciative of Chloe for singing on it."


9. beabadoobee Drops New Single, 'Together'

Philippines-born and London-raised artist beabadoobee just dropped her new single, "Together." She's a rockstar in the making and we can't wait to see where her career takes her. When asked about the song in a press release, she said, "This song is about the dependency you have with someone and missing that when you're away and learning to be by yourself. It's written from that point when you're feeling alone and thinking everything is better when you're with that other person."


10. Netflix Releases Trailer for BLACKPINK: Light Up the Sky

Netflix is the best platform for discovering interesting documentaries, and BLACKPINK: Light Up the Sky is no different. The film, which came out on Wednesday, Oct. 14, shows the girl band BLACKPINK behind the scenes on their musical journey. Dubbed the highest-charting female K-pop group of all time, this is one must-watch doc.


Interested to find out what happened in music last week? Look HERE for the 10 big things that happened in music the week of Oct. 9.